Contact

Call

Call us

Our support team is happy to help you, be it for technical or administrative issues. We’re there for you!

 

+43 (0)720 511 555

(Calls from the Austrian landline 0.25 EUR / minute)

 

Monday to Friday/Saturday1
9:00 am – 12:00 pm & 1:30 – 5:00 pm

1 Administration: Monday to Friday, technical support: Monday to Saturday

Write

Write to us

To be able to help you as quickly and effectively as possible, we kindly ask that you make your request as specific as possible. And of course you can contact us by email: support@hoststar.at

Password-protected areas

Support > Hosting > Settings

If you want to password-protect certain areas (directories) in your hosting account, follow these steps:

1. Log in

Log into My Panel (my.hoststar.at).
(Log into My Panel)

2. Navigate

Click the «Hosting» menu item and then «Settings».

3. Click the password-protected areas

Click «Password-protected areas» at the top in the menu.

4. Select your subscription

Select the hosting package for which you want to add, change or remove a password-protected area.

5. Create password-protected area (directory)

Click the lock icon next to the subdirectory to add password protection to subdirectory.

Now give the area a name (no special characters), a username (no special characters) and a password to activate password protection.

You can add additional users later.

Click the «Save» button to add password protection.

The password protection you have just set up is enabled instantly. Close the view by clicking the «Close» button.

You are returned to the overview where you see the password protection status of the directory (here, «html») indicated by the pencil icon.

6. Change password-protected area (directory)

If you want to change the password protection for a subdirectory or add, change or remove a user, click the pencil icon next to the relevant subdirectory.

Changing the area name

Click the pencil icon next to the desired subdirectory, then enter the desired name for the protected area in the «Range name» box.

Next, click the «Save» button to apply your changes.

Changing the user

To change the username or password for an existing user, click the pencil icon next to the respective user.

A pop-up window appears. Under «User name», you can change the user’s name (no special characters) and password.

Next, click the «Save» button to apply your changes.

Add user

Click the «Add user» button to add a new user.

A pop-up window appears. Enter the user name and the desired password in the respective fields.

Then click the «Save» button to add the new user.

The new user appears immediately in the overview.

Removing users

Click the X to remove the desired user.

A warning message appears. Click the «Remove» button to remove the user.

7. Remove password-protected area (directory)

There are two options for disabling password protection for a certain directory.

1. Remove each user individually

2. Disabling password protection for directories

Remove each user individually

One-by-one, remove each user as described in the section «Removing users».

When you remove the last user, the «Disabling directory protection» warning appears. This message reminds the user that removing the last user will disable password protection for the directory. The respective directory (e.g. «html») then becomes publicly accessible.

Disabling password protection for directories

If you want to disable password protection for a directory (e.g. html), double-click to the left of the «pencil icon».

Then click on the «Delete» button to disable password protection for the selected directory, including all users. This cannot be undone.

Was this article helpful?